One Half from the East (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
One Half from the East Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 27 6:21am
(CHI INTERMEDIATE)

Staff Reviews


Obayda's family lives Afghanistan, and when her father loses his leg from a terrorist attack they have to move from the big city to a small village. To bring luck to the family, Obayda's aunt suggests adopting the underground practice of bacha posh, dressing a girl as a boy. So with a chop of her hair, a change of clothes, and the removal of a letter from her name, she becomes a he. With the privilege of a boy there are no more chores, better food, and the freedom to run around the neighborhood with the other boys. When Obayd finds another bacha posh they decide that they never want to change back. But nothing goes as planned.

— From Allen

Description


Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh--a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck--dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won't last forever, though--unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062421906
ISBN-10: 0062421905
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 6th, 2016
Pages: 272
Language: English