The Association of Small Bombs (Paperback)

The Association of Small Bombs Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
9 on hand, as of May 22 6:04am
(FIC GENERAL)

Description


Winner of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award

One of Granta's Best Young American Novelists
Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award

National Book Award Finalist
NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award Finalist

One of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year
A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of 2016

Named a Best Book of 2016 by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, New York magazine, The Huffington Post, The Guardian, The AV Club, The Fader, Redbook, Electric Literature, Book Riot, Bustle, Good magazine, PureWow, and PopSugar

Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award

"Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives--about grief, death, violence, politics--I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste." --Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

"Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan's writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I've read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe." --Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal

" Mahajan's] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making, a daring imaginative promiscuity that moves beyond the scope of his first, very good novel, Family Planning." --The New Yorker

" A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy." --The Washington Post

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family's television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb--one of the many "small" bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world--detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.

Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

About the Author


Karan Mahajan was born in 1984 and grew up in New Delhi, India. His first novel, Family Planning, was a finalist for the Dylan Thomas Prize and published in nine countries. His writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, NPR's All Things Considered, The New Yorker online, The Believer, The Paris Review Daily, and Bookforum. A graduate of Stanford University and the Michener Center for Writers, he lives in Austin, Texas. From the Hardcover edition.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143109273
ISBN-10: 0143109278
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: October 18th, 2016
Pages: 288
Language: English