The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears in Paris at the World's Most Famous Cooking School (Paperback)

$15.00
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand as of Apr 20 4:11pm

Staff Reviews



If you enjoy cooking, like memoirs, travel, want a good true romantic story, or just want to read some great writing, try this. One year at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris with Kathleen Flinn and you feel as if you've gone through all the same highs and lows as she does, and you come out stronger. --Tracy

Description


Read Kathleen Flinn's posts on the Penguin Blog.

This is the funny and inspiring account of Kathleen Flinn’s struggle in a stew of hot-tempered chefs, competitive classmates, her own “wretchedly inadequate” French, and the basics of French cuisine. Flinn was a thirty-six-year-old middle manager trapped on the corporate ladder—until her boss eliminated her job. So she cashed in her savings and moved to Paris to pursue her lifelong dream of attending the venerable Le Cordon Bleu cooking school. Fans of Julie & Julia and the late Julia Child will be richly rewarded by this vibrant tale of self-discovery, transformation, and ultimately love.

About the Author


Kathleen Flinn has been a writer and journalist for nearly twenty years. Her work has appeared in the Chicago Tribune, Chicago Sun-Times, USA Weekend, Men’s Fitness and many other publications. She is a proud member of the International Association of Culinary Professionals, the American Society of Journalists and Authors, and the Author’s Guild. She divides her time between Seattle and southwest Florida.

Product Details ISBN-10: 0143114131
ISBN-13: 9780143114130
Published: Penguin Books, 09/02/2008
Pages: 304
Language: English