The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door (Hardcover)

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Cover Image
$16.99
Special Order

January 2013 Indie Next List


“This debut novel for teen fans of John Green captures perfectly the exquisite pain of being the outcast. Celia Door begins high school with the single goal of revenge for an act of cruelty the previous year that left her isolated and vulnerable. But Celia doesn't count on Drake, the new boy in school, and the unexpected way he changes her life, or what she does to his. Believable, hilarious, and heartbreaking, The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door is a treat for readers!”
— Leslie Reiner, Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL

Description


"That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.
"
Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.
But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.
This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" and "Will Grayson, Will Grayson."

About the Author


Like Celia Door, Karen Finneyfrock grew up filling notebooks full of poems. Now, she lives in Seattle, WA where she teaches workshops on creative writing and travels to perform poetry. Karen has previously published two books of poems. This is her first novel.

Praise For…


"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
—Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
-Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author

“I loved The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door! Celia is a quirky and unique character whose journey—through friendship and secrets and chocolate—will stay with readers long after they close the book.”
—Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey
-Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray

Praise for The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door by Karen Finneyfrock:

“Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along.” —Publishers Weekly

“Revenge may be sweet, but the joys of friendship and following your own star prove even sweeter in this engaging…novel about a creative, rebellious youngster.” —Kirkus

"[Celia Door is] a memorable outsider who is articulate, funny, and brave." —School Library Journal

"Suggest this to fans of David Levithan’s and A. S. King’s books, as well as all teens who feel outside the frenzy of high-school social life." —Booklist
"...well-written, engaging, and ultimately hopeful..." —VOYA

Product Details
ISBN: 9780670012756
ISBN-10: 0670012750
Publisher: Viking Children's Books
Publication Date: February 21st, 2013
Pages: 259
Language: English