Kim

 

 

Kim's Recommendations...

Staff Pick Logo
Black Moon Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780804137164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth Press - January 20th, 2015

In Calhoun's apocalyptic debut, the world is suddenly ravaged by a plague of insomnia. As those who have lost their ability to sleep also lose their sanity, the few who are spared the plague become victims of violence, guilt, and impotence. Calhoun's vision of this world perfectly captures the apocalyptic struggle: the ways--both horrifying and uplifting--in which humanity processes and reacts to chaos.


Staff Pick Logo
It Never Happened Again: Two Stories Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780988901469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Uncivilized Books - August 5th, 2014

Sam Alden is one of the rising stars in comics right now, and his new book, It Never Happened Again, elegantly demonstrates why. Alden's ostensibly unrefined pencil sketches conceal an artistic genius generally reserved for epic full-color graphic endeavors. The rough lines provide a raw intimacy that beautifully captures the mood of the two stories contained in the book. Alden deftly relates the promise and pain of adolescence and young adulthood, while letting the reader linger in the silent moments.


Staff Pick Logo
Out on the Wire: The Storytelling Secrets of the New Masters of Radio Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780385348430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - August 25th, 2015

For fans of Serial, Radiolab, and This American Life, Abel goes behind the scenes of some of the best shows on and off the radio to figure out what makes this narrative nonfiction such an incredible medium for exploring our our world and ourselves.


Staff Pick Logo
Stone Mattress: Nine Wicked Tales Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780804173506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - June 23rd, 2015

Atwood's new collection of short stories demonstrates, once again, her keen eye for portraying humanity in all of its messy, mortal, relational glory. The characters in these nine stories find themselves grappling with the existential crisis of growing old: re-evaluating their lives through the lens of personal and social history while simultaneously continuing to live within the context of ostensible decline. Atwood's sharp wit and brilliant prose shine in this gem of a book.


Staff Pick Logo
Dataclysm: Love, Sex, Race, and Identity--What Our Online Lives Tell Us about Our Offline Selves Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780385347396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - September 8th, 2015

As the internet becomes an increasingly integral part of our daily lives, there is an unprecedented ability to collect and examine large swaths of data about how we think, act, and portray ourselves, both on and off-line. Rudder, one of the founders of the dating site OkCupid, deftly parses through the mass amounts of data that is regularly collected by our online actions to demonstrate how we perceive ourselves and others, how disparate our actions are from our words, and what big data can tell us about human nature.


Staff Pick Logo
Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9781616205492
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - October 6th, 2015

High school is rough. Particularly for Leila: an Iranian American who finds herself crushing hardcore on the new girl in school. Light-hearted and charming, Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel follows Leila's misadventures as she navigates coming out and coming of age, while learning that maybe she's not the only one with a secret.


Staff Pick Logo
Zazen Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781935869054
Availability: Out of Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Lemonade - May 22nd, 2011

Veselka's lyrical debut novel is a brilliant meditation on our current cultural state: the constant anxiety of societal threat, the blind consumerism and environmental destruction, the hollow gestures of activism, and the emergence of a new lost generation. 


Staff Pick Logo
Pole Dancing to Gospel Hymns Cover Image
By Andrea Gibson, Anis Mojgani (Illustrator)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780981521305
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - June 2008

Gibson takes pen to paper like flint to steel, generating verbal sparks that exist to ignite the reader's soul. I prescribe Andrea's words to anyone looking to fall in love, mend a wound, kindle rage at social injustice, develop empathy, and--most importantly--find a voice that speaks for the silenced.


Staff Pick Logo
Dora: A Headcase Cover Image
By Lidia Yuknavitch, Chuck Palahniuk (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780983477570
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hawthorne Books - August 7th, 2012

Yuknavitch is such a literary badass. In her debut novel, she rips Freud's classic case study to shreds, then stitches it back together as a contemporary radical/feminist/hyperactive/queer coming-of-age story. Hysterical!


Staff Pick Logo
Here Comes the Sun Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781631491764
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - July 5th, 2016

In a poor Jamaican community, Delores peddles souvenirs to tourists at the market while her eldest daughter, Margot, works at the nearby resort, peddling paradise to men with money and burying her own desires. Margot’s younger sister, Thandi, carries the weight of the family’s hopes for a brighter future, yet she sees salvation not in the elite school her family can barely afford, but in the skin-whitening remedies that promise a new life. Dennis-Benn’s brilliant debut novel illuminates the sexism, racism, and classism of the region while blazing with a lyrical and narrative profundity that will smolder in the reader’s mind for years to come.

-Booknotes Summer 2016


Staff Pick Logo
How to Make White People Laugh Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781455558223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 24th, 2016

Negin Farsad, a self-described Iranian-American-Muslim-female-comedian-slash-filmmaker-honey-mustard-enthusiast, delves into what it means to be a hyphenated American with humor, intelligence, and turducken metaphors. Drawing from her experience growing up and coming to terms with her otherness, she uses social justice comedy to patiently deconstruct our cultural biases, then provides a practical framework for actions we all can take to bridge our various degrees of cultural otherness and, in time, create an America that is simultaneously inclusive and celebratory of our many identities.

-Booknotes Summer 2016