The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door (Paperback)

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Cover Image
$9.99
Email or call for price.

Spring '13 Kids List


“This debut novel for teen fans of John Green captures perfectly the exquisite pain of being the outcast. Celia Door begins high school with the single goal of revenge for an act of cruelty the previous year that left her isolated and vulnerable. But Celia doesn't count on Drake, the new boy in school, and the unexpected way he changes her life, or what she does to his. Believable, hilarious, and heartbreaking, The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door is a treat for readers!”
— Leslie Reiner, Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL

Description


"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
—Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian


That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.


Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

About the Author


Like Celia Door, Karen Finneyfrock grew up filling notebooks full of poems. Now, she lives in Seattle, WA where she teaches workshops on creative writing and travels to perform poetry. Karen has previously published two books of poems. Karen Finneyfrock is also author of Starbird Murphy and the World Outside.

Praise For…


"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
—Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time IndianSherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author

"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
—Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

“I loved The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door! Celia is a quirky and unique character whose journey—through friendship and secrets and chocolate—will stay with readers long after they close the book.”
—Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

“What debut novelist Finneyfrock captures perfectly is the powerlessness of being a teen.... Illuminated with flashes of humor, Celia’s narration is expressive, and her poems, which are sprinkled throughout the novel, elucidate her emotional state with grace and specificity.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along.”
Publishers Weekly

"Finneyfrock weaves characters and plotlines into an entertaining and thought-provoking mix. She succeeds in making her debut much more than a “problem novel” by creating a memorable outsider who is articulate, funny, and brave."
SLJ

"Suggest this to fans of David Levithan’s and A. S. King’s books, as well as allteens who feel outside the frenzy of high-school social life."
Booklist

"Readers will like Celia and pull for her to learn that being true to herself is the sweetest revenge of all."
Bookpage.com

"This well-written, engaging, and ultimately hopeful book offers sympathetic characters with depth and interest.... Many readers will see themselves reflected in these pages."
VOYA
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147509956
ISBN-10: 0147509955
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: May 1st, 2014
Pages: 288
Language: English