Marcus Makes a Movie (Paperback)

Marcus Makes a Movie Cover Image
By Kevin Hart, Geoff Rodkey (With), David Cooper (Illustrator)
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 29 1:18am

Description


Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in an illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film. Perfect for readers of James Patterson's Middle School series and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series.

Marcus is NOT happy to be stuck in after-school film class . . . until he realizes he can turn the story of the cartoon superhero he’s been drawing for years into an actual MOVIE! There’s just one problem: he has no idea what he’s doing. So he’ll need help, from his friends, his teachers, Sierra, the strong-willed classmate with creative dreams of her own, even Tyrell, the local bully who’d be a perfect movie villain if he weren’t too terrifying to talk to.

Making this movie won’t be easy. But as Marcus discovers, nothing great ever is—and if you want your dream to come true, you’ve got to put in the hustle to make it happen.

Comedy superstar Kevin Hart teams up with award-winning author Geoff Rodkey and lauded illustrator David Cooper for a hilarious, illustrated, and inspiring story about bringing your creative goals to life and never giving up, even when nothing’s going your way.

About the Author


Co-Author Bio:
Geoff Rodkey is the author of the bestselling Tapper Twins comedy series; the Chronicles of Egg adventure trilogy; We're Not From Here,an NPR and Kirkus Best Book of the Year; and The Story Pirates Present: Stuck in the Stone Age, a comic novel bundled with a how-to guide for kids who want to create stories of their own. His first novel for adults, Lights Out in Lincolnwood, publishes in July. He's also the Emmy-nominated screenwriter of such films as Daddy Day Care and RV.
geoffrodkey.com |@GeoffRodkey

David Cooper is a multi-media artist and muralist, born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. His work has appeared on book covers, ad campaigns, and editorial publications, such as The New York Times, Print Magazine, and POZ Magazine. He has painted large-scale murals at Miami Art Basel, Brooklyn, and has been exhibited at The New York Society of Illustrators. 
davidcooperart.com | @davidcooperart

Praise For…


"Authentic dialogue and the ups and downs of his journey keep kid readers on the edge of their seat..." –Parents

"A charming read that demystifies the work of making a movie and celebrates the gifts of authentic friendship.” –Kirkus Reviews

"With its solid comic time and realistic sense of character and dialogue, this energetic love letter to the artistic process provides both practicality and encouragement." –Publishers Weekly

"A glimpse of what working hard to make a dream a reality looks like." –Booklist

"Not only is it jam-packed with Hart’s signature humor, but it touches on important themes familiar to Hart, too: the hustle, never giving up and bringing your creative goals to life." -Variety
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593179178
ISBN-10: 059317917X
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Marcus