In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order: Scroll Down to Product Details for Release Date

Description


A debut YA graphic memoir about a Korean-American girl's coming-of-age story—and a coming home story—set between a New Jersey suburb and Seoul, South Korea.

Deborah (Jung-Jin) Lee knows she's different. Ever since her family emigrated from South Korea to the United States, she's felt her Otherness. For a while, her English isn't perfect. None of her teachers can pronounce her Korean name. Her face and her eyes—especially her eyes—stand out. As the pressures of high school ramp up, friendships change and end, and everything gets harder. Even home isn't a safe place, as fights with her mom escalate. Deb is caught in a limbo, with nowhere to go, and her mental health plummets.

But Deb is resilient. She discovers art and self-care, and gradually begins to start recovering. And during a return trip to South Korea, she realizes something that changes her perspective on her family, her heritage, and herself.

This stunning debut graphic memoir features page after page of gorgeous, evocative art, perfect for Tillie Walden fans. It's a cross section of the Korean-American diaspora and mental health, a moving and powerful read in the vein of Hey, Kiddo and The Best We Could Do.

About the Author


Deb JJ Lee is a Korean-born artist currently living in Brooklyn, NY. Her clients include The New Yorker, Washington Post, NPR, Facebook, Google, Radiolab, Scientific American, and PBS. Books she has illustrated include The Invisible Boy by Alyssa Hollingsworth (Roaring Brook Press, 2020) and The Other Side of Tomorrow by Tina Cho (HarperCollins, 2023). In Limbo is her debut graphic novel memoir.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250252661
ISBN-10: 1250252660
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English