Against Memoir: Complaints, Confessions & Criticisms (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Against Memoir: Complaints, Confessions & Criticisms Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Mar 5 3:15pm

Staff Reviews

Michelle Tea, having authored several well-known memoirs, now brings us Against Memoir, her first collection of essays. Included here are essays previously released, original works only now being published, and speeches and performances compiled over the last twenty years. Tea's writing is both in-your-face and funny as it addresses counter-culture, art, gender, queerness, and other movements that define Tea’s presence as a writer, activist, and queer cultural figure. Her voice is unmistakable in how genuinely it speaks to the complexities of existing within queer communities. -Amy

— From Summer Booknotes 2018


The PEN Award-winning essay collection about queer lives: "Gorgeously punk-rock rebellious."--The A.V. Club

The razor-sharp but damaged Valerie Solanas, a doomed lesbian biker gang, recovering alcoholics, and teenagers barely surviving at an ice creamery: these are some of the larger-than-life, yet all-too-human figures populating America's fringes. Rife with never-ending fights and failures, theirs are the stories we too often try to forget. But in the process of excavating and documenting these queer lives, Michelle Tea also reveals herself in unexpected and heartbreaking ways.

Delivered with her signature honesty and dark humor, this is Tea's first-ever collection of journalistic writing. As she blurs the line between telling other people's stories and her own, she turns an investigative eye to the genre that's nurtured her entire career--memoir--and considers the price that art demands be paid from life.

Winner of the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay

"Eclectic and wide-ranging. . . . A palpable pain animates many of these essays, as well as a raucous joy and bright curiosity." --The New York Times

"The best essay collection I've read in years." --The New Republic

About the Author

Michelle Tea is the author of numerous books, including Black Wave, Valencia, and How to Grow Up. She is the creator of the Sister Spit all-girl open mic and the 1997-1999 national tour, and founded RADAR Productions, a literary non-profit that oversees queer-centric projects. Currently she creates Amethyst Editions, a queer imprint of the Feminist Press.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781936932184
ISBN-10: 1936932180
Publisher: Amethyst Editions
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Pages: 300
Language: English